- Click for Restaurant Directory_____


Find us wherever you are!
Subscribe To Smithtown Matters
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter







7th Grader Dylan Shen Winner Of Nesaquake's Geography Bee

Nesaquake names Geo Bee winner

On Jan. 23, Nesaquake Middle School in the Smithtown Central School District held its annual Geography Bee in the school’s library. Seven students in grades six through eight competed in the final round of the contest, which is sponsored by National Geographic. After many rounds, seventh-grader Dylan Shen was crowned the winner. The next step is an online contest to see if he will qualify to be invited to the state competition on March 29. Shen is pictured here with Nesaquake Middle School Principal Dan McCabe. Photo courtesy of Smithtown Central School District


Twenty-Three Smithtown HS Student-Athletes Sign With Colleges

Twenty-three Smithtown student-athletes sign


Smithtown Central School District’s senior student-athletes put pen to paper as they signed national letters of intent to continue to play their sports at the collegiate level next year. 

From Smithtown High School East, nine student-athletes signed their letters. They are: Alexander Blatt, lacrosse, Colorado Mesa University; Sophia DeNicola, lacrosse, University of Michigan; Catherine Farrell, track and field, Manhattan College; Douglas Goodwin, baseball, Binghamton University; William Kennedy, baseball, Hofstra University; Isabella Romano, soccer, SUNY Albany; Gabrielle Schneider, lacrosse, Lehigh University; Gabriella Whitehouse, lacrosse, Stony Brook University; and Grace Young, track and field, Binghamton University. 

At Smithtown High School West, the following student-athletes committed to their college sports: Matt Caddigan, lacrosse, University of Massachusetts; Conor Calderone; lacrosse, University of Maryland; Erin Cascone, lacrosse, Hartford University; Lauren Coletti, lacrosse, Hofstra University; Marc Cottage, lacrosse, Wingate University; Nick DeFelice, track, Binghamton University; Paige Diecidue, golf, Monmouth University; Kevin Ehli, lacrosse, University of Utah; Spencer Frank, lacrosse, Hartford University; John Hoffman, lacrosse, Providence College; Regan Kielmeyer, lacrosse, Loyola University; Lindsey McCarthy, girls soccer, Molloy College; Taylor Menella, lacrosse, Hofstra University; and Janine Suris, lacrosse, University of Florida. 

Photos courtesy of Smithtown Central School District

Page 1 2